The MARY HERWIG AWARD is  given by the Antique & Classic Boat Society to honor an individual who, through activities at the chapter level, has contributed broadly and in an outstanding manner to enhance and further the aims and objectives of the society.

Mary Herwig, a member of the Manotick Chapter, became a Director and Officer in the ACBS, in fact, President-elect before her death.  Her emphasis in leadership was always to recognize and honor the efforts of the work done at the chapter level of the organization.

The 2015 Mary Herwig Award was presented to Gail Turner.  Blue Ridge Chapter documented so many ways that Gail served their chapter.  She has been the “go-to” person for the Blue Ridge Chapter.  She is a past two-term co-president and has worked tirelessly to showcase her chapter. Through her organization and leadership, Blue Ridge has hosted two ACBS International Boat shows, plus two ACBS quarterly meetings.  She and husband Bill have chaired many chapter meetings, boat shows and rendezvous.  Blue Ridge Chapter has grown and benefitted from their outstanding leadership.

Nominations are now welcome for the 2016 Mary Herwig  Award. Awards are presented at the ACBS Annual Meeting’s Awards Banquet.

  • The nomination should be made by a member of the chapter and supported by the Chapter’s Officers and/or Board of Directors.  Supporting documentation, such as publications, news articles, event fliers, even community endorsements will enhance the nomination.
  • Detailed criteria may be found in the Chapter Handbook available to members under Resources in the Members Online Directory.
  • Nominations along with supporting documentation should be mailed to the ACBS Awards Committee members also listed in the Chapter Handbook.

The Mary Herwig Award has been presented every year since 1996.  Past recipients are:

1996 – Ken MacStephen, Toronto
1997 – Victor Fabricius
1998 – Susan Buehler
1999 – Ken Kirk, Toronto
2000 – James Potter, Manotick
2001 – Dale Tassell
2002 – Bette Shutt, No.Calif./Lake Tahoe
2003 – Goody Thomas
2004 – Les Demaline, North Coast Ohio
2005 – H. Drayton Mook (posthumously), Michigan
2006 – Wilson Wright, Sunnyland
2007 – Jerry Winter, Blue Ridge
2008 – Dave Tilley, Manotick
2009 – Terry Fiest, Sunnyland
2010 – Jack Hartwig, Mississippi Valley
2011 – Sharon Dickinson, Niagara Fronteer
2012 – Teresa Hoffman, Adirondack
2013 – Edith Wright, Oganagan
2014 – Forrest Bryant, Heartland Classics
2015 – Gail Turner, Blue Ridge


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.