ACBS has an active Awards Program aimed at:

  • Furthering the goals of the Society.
  • Encouraging its members and chapters to set ever higher standards and to constantly work toward those objectives.
  • Recognizing outstanding achievement.

ACBS Chapter of the Year: Given annually beginning in 2010, this award is given to recognize one or more chapters who have been particularly outstanding in their development, activities, member participation, and other areas of improvement during the year.  History of Chapter of the Year Winners

Mary Herwig Award:  Graciously donated by the Manotick Classic Boat Club, this trophy is awarded for the purpose of honoring an individual who, through activities at the chapter lever, has contributed broadly and in an outstanding manner to enhance and further the aims and objectives of the society.  History of the Mary Herwig Award Winners.

Chapter Publication Awards:  These awards have been given each year since 1985 by ACBS to recognize the effort of our chapters and their publication editors in communicating with members.  Beginning in 2012, for the purpose of judging, the publications were grouped according to the size of the chapter.  History of Chapter Publication Awards

Best Chapter Website: Each year ACBS recognizes the effort of our chapter and their volunteers in communicating with their members and the public with the use of websites.  History of Best Chapter Website Winners

Rover Award:  Generously donated by the Toronto Chapter and selected by the Awards Committee, this trophy is awarded for the purpose of recognizing outstanding effort by an individual or group in the organization and implementation of a cruise encouraging the use of antique, classic, and historic boats for the enjoyment of the chapter and society’s members.  History of the Rover Award Winners

Hagerty Safety Award:  Generously provided by Hagerty Classic Marine Insurance of Traverse City, MI, this award is given to an individual(s) who prepares and has published in an ACBS related publication, the best article on boating safety.  The award carries with it a monetary honorarium and each recipient’s name is engraved on a perpetual Trophy retained at ACBS Headquarters.  The award is given annually at the ACBS International Annual Membership Meeting only if a deserving recipient is identified in the judgment of the Awards Committee, the Safety Committee, and Hagerty Classic Marine Insurance.  History of Hagerty Safety Award Winners

Broken Gunwale Award: Donated by the Finger Lakes Chapter and chosen by the awards committee, this award is given in the spirit of fun and good humor and presented to any individual or group which has “distinguished” itself in a memorable way while participating in an ACBS cruise or boat show.  A perpetual trophy displaying the names of recipients is retained at ACBS Headquarters and is awarded only when an appropriate event or incident deserves “commemoration”.  History of Broken Gunwale Award Winners

Chapter Growth Awards: given to recognize the efforts at a chapter level toward membership growth.  History of Chapter Growth Awards

ACBS Founders Award:  Generously donated by the Michigan Chapter and chosen annually by past recipients, this award recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement in furthering the goals of The Antique and Classic Boat Sociiety, Inc.  A permanent plaque is displayed at Society Headquarters, while each recipient is presented with a memento.  History of ACBS Founders Award Recipients

ACBS President’s Cup:  Given annually by the President of the Society to recognize and honor an individual whose dedication and contributions to ACBS during the year just past has been exemplary.  History of President’s Cup Recipients

Major Benefactor Award:  Generously donated by the Northern California/Lake Tahoe Chapter and given at the discretion of the Society’s Board of Directors in recognition of major donations to the Society having a minimum individual value of $10,000.  A permanent plaque displaying the names of all recipients is retained at ACBS Headquarters, while each recipient is honored with an appropriate remembrance of his or her generosity.  

2003 – Lindsey Hopkins III
2004 – Ray and Mary Keating
2006 – Jim Shotwell
2007 – Nick & Steve Lamando, Hall’s Marina