Don Leutz, Awards Committee Chair

ACBS is proud of all of our chapters and the hardworking volunteers that put in so much work to keep the chapters running. Now is the time to recognize those folks for their hard work and dedication to keeping the chapters both organized and having fun.  Please consider nominating a deserving individual(s), or ACBS chapter that might be worthy of receiving one of many ACBS International Awards. 

A brief summary of the Awards are as follows:

Terry Fiest Award: This is a new annual award sponsored by the Sunnyland Chapter  and serves to recognize the dedication, leadership, and vision of an individual Chapter member(s) which has served as a Boat Show Chairperson, Judge, or volunteer who has demonstrated outstanding sustained performance at a Chapter’s premier Boat Show Event.

Mary Herwig Award: Honors an individual who has contributed broadly and in an outstanding manner at the Chapter level toward enhancing and furthering the aims and objectives of ACBS.

Hagerty Safety Award: Provided by Hagerty Classic Marine Insurance and presented to an individual(s) who prepares and has published the best article on Boating Safety in an ACBS Publication or Website.

Rover Award: Recognition of outstanding effort by an individual or group in the organization and implementation of a cruise or function encouraging the use of antique, classic, and historic boats for the enjoyment of the Chapter and ACBS members.

Broken Gunwale Award: Given in the spirit of fun and good humor. Presented to any individual or group which has “distinguished” themselves in a memorable way while participating in an ACBS cruise or boat show.

Chapter of the Year Award: Recognition of a Chapter who has been outstanding in their membership and youth development activities, member participation, event planning, communication with members and ACBS, and other areas of improvement during the year.

Publication Awards: Given in recognition of the effort of a Chapter and their newsletter/magazine editors in communicating with their members. There are three awards given in the categories of small, medium, and large Chapters.

Website Awards: One award and one runner-up award is given out each year to recognize a Chapter and their Webmaster(s) in communicating effectively with their members. All Chapter websites are reviewed by the Awards Committee throughout the year and judged on design, content, and originality as well as use of the ACBS logo and efforts to promote ACBS membership and events.

Nominations for the above awards are due June 30, 2023

Nominations should be submitted to:

Don Leutz, Chair

Lisa Robinson         

Janice Miller

Gene Porter

The ACBS International Awards will be presented at the Annual Awards Banquet, this year at Bay Harbor, Petosky, MI in September.

For additional information on all the ACBS Awards, please visit

The Awards Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.