by Adam Weisburgh, Adirondack Chapter Vice President
from Fourth Watch Newsletter Summer 2022: VIEW FROM THE REAR COCKPIT
* Please note that all ACBS members should take note of this article. While the article is specific to New York State, here at ACBS Headquarters we know many other States are now requiring most or all boaters to have a Boater Safety Certificate, and when you travel for a show, you will need to check that State’s laws as well. Visit the US Power Squadrons’ website to see listings by State. https://www.americasboatingcourse.com/lawsbystate.cfm?lid=50
As many of you have heard, New York State has a new law that will fully go into effect on January 1, 2025 mandating that all boaters take a
8 hour NYS boaters safety course. Here are just a couple small points of the new law.
No person is exempt from this, even those who have been boating forever. We all must take the time and take the course. There are a couple ways to complete the course, one is to do it online and the other is sit through the 8 hour class in person. If there is interest to take the course as a group, let us know and we will try to set something up.
*The BoatUS Foundation is one of the websites where many States allow you to take your course online: https://www.boatus.org/free/#state