Hagerty Safety Award Recipients

2018 – Bill Hancock           Sunnyland Chapter

2017 – Bill Nalle                 Southwest Chapter

2016 – Dennis Mykols       Water Wonderland

2015 – Don Leutz              No. Calif./Lake Tahoe

2014 – Ed Petitti                Sunnyland

2013 – David L. Williams   North Coast Ohio

2012 – Chuck Warner       Chesapeake Bay

2011 – Bobby Gibson        Heartland Classics

2010 – Dennis and Julie Moore       Blue Ridge

2009 – Dan Wilson            Chesapeake Bay

2008 – Terry Ross and Craig Hartwig   Sunnyland

2007 – John Gullick    

2006 – Jim Patrick             Michigan

2005 – Dick Sherwood       Finger Lakes

2004 – Godfrey Howard    ACBS

2003 – Stephen Merjanian, Jr.    Bob Speltz

2002 – Dick Sligh              Sunnyland

Hagerty Safety Award:

Generously provided by Hagerty Classic Marine Insurance of Traverse City, MI, this award is given to an individual(s) who prepares and has published in an ACBS related publication, the best article on boating safety. The award carries with it a monetary honorarium and each recipient’s name is engraved on a perpetual trophy retained at ACBS Headquarters.

The award is given annually at the ACBS International Annual Membership Meeting, if a deserving recipient is identified in the judgment of the Awards Committee; The Education, Safety and Community Service Committee; and Hagerty Classic Marine Insurance.  The nomination should include the name and date of publication, title of article, name(s) of author(s), chapter membership of author(s), and attach a copy of the Safety Article.

Nominations for this Award must be submitted by June 30th to each of the following ACBS Award Committee Members: